Sports success celebrated at Spelthorne Sports Awards

The sporting success of local players, coaches and volunteers was celebrated at the annual Spelthorne Sports Awards at Shepperton Studios on Tuesday 9 October. Awards were presented to recognise sporting stars for their effort and dedication to sport in Spelthorne. The guest speaker for the evening was Olympic rowing silver medallist, Debbie Flood.

Many congratulations to the following winners:



Active Surrey Coach of the Year

Roger White

Disability Sports Award

John Hobbs-Mallyon

Sports Club of the Year

Littleton Sailing Club

Volunteer of the Year

Jo Lloyd

Sports Personality of the Year

Chloe Ackerman

Young Sports Personality of the Year

George Waters

Sports Team of the Year

Charlie Tate and Adam Upcott

Young Sports Team of the Year

Spelthorne Gymnastics Elite Acrobatic Team

Young Volunteer of the Year

Starksy Torchia

Outstanding Service to Sport

Lynne Morgan

School of the Year

Springfield Primary School

Gerry Ceaser Special Recognition Award

George Sudderick

Cllr Maureen Attewell, Spelthorne's Cabinet Member for Community Wellbeing, said: "The Sports Awards provide a great opportunity to celebrate the talents and achievements of our local athletes and recognise the hard work and commitment of the volunteers who support the clubs and players. Thanks to everyone who helped to organise the event and many congratulations to everyone who received an award."